Friday, 22 May 2009


Thanet district Council press release

Ed this press release contains a table.

Blogger doesn’t accept the complicated computer language necessary to publish a table online so you need to click here to view the press release, as it should look.

Thanet Council's new Cabinet, Shadow Cabinet and Committee Chairmen for the forthcoming year have been formally announced.

Last night's (Thursday 21 May) Annual Council meeting saw Cllr. Sandy Ezekiel re-elected as the Leader of the Council for the seventh year. Cllr. Roger Latchford was re-elected as the Deputy Leader for the third year. The Leader of the Opposition is Cllr. Clive Hart and the Deputy Leader of the Opposition is Cllr. Peter Campbell.

The Cabinet and Shadow Cabinet details for the Council year 2009/10 are:

Cabinet Member
Shadow Cabinet Member
Regeneration and Economic Development (includes the Margate Renewal Partnership, asset management, strategic planning and the Port of Ramsgate
Cllr. Roger Latchford
Cllr. Peter Campbell
Finance (also includes human resources, policy and performance, procurement and audit)
Cllr. Martin Wise
Cllr. David Green
Customer Services (includes IT services , revenues and benefits)
Cllr. Simon Moores
Cllr. Linda Aldred
Community Services (includes council housing, strategic housing, housing need and homelessness, housing renewal, private sector housing, community safety and environmental health)
Cllr. Zita Wiltshire
Cllr. Iris Johnston
Environmental Services (includes waste collection, recycling, street cleaning, public toilets, parking, parks, allotments, cemeteries and crematorium, sports development, Sport 4NRG, arts development, museums, foreshores, Thanet Coast Project, indoor and outdoor leisure, play services, tourism, events and Environmental Action Programme)
Cllr. Shirley Tomlinson
Cllr. Michelle Fenner
Regulatory Services and Ramsgate Marina (includes planning enforcement and applications, licensing, land charges and general estate management)
Cllr. John Kirby
Cllr. John Watkins

The Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of the Council's Committees and Boards for 2009/10 were also appointed at the Annual Council meeting:

Planning Committee Chairman Cllr. Ken Gregory
Planning Committee Vice-Chairman Cllr. Simon Day
Scrutiny Chairman Cllr. Bob Bayford
Scrutiny Vice-Chairman Cllr. Mike Harrison
Licensing Board Chairman Cllr. Mick Tomlinson
Licensing Board Vice-Chairman Cllr. Ted Watt-Ruffell
Governance and Audit Committee Chairman Cllr. Jo Gideon
Governance and Audit Committee Vice-Chairman Cllr. Jason Savage
Joint Transportation Board Chairman Cllr. Brian Sullivan

Ed will sort this one into html so you can read it properly later

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please note comments that may be libellous, comments that may be construed as offensive, anonymous derogatory comments about real people, comments baiting internet trolls, comments saying that an anonymous comment was made by a named real person, boring comments and spam comments, comments in CAPs will be deleted. Playground stuff like calling real people by their time stamp or surname alone, referring to groups as gangs, old duffers and so on will result in deletion. Comment that may be construed as offensive to minority groups is not allowed here either, so think before you write it, remember that the internet is a public place, that it is very difficult to be truly anonymous and that everyone who uses it leaves a trail of some sort. Also note the facility to leave anonymous comment will be turned of during periods when I am unable to monitor comment, this will not affect people commenting who are signed on to their blogger accounts. When things are particularly difficult on the commercial spam front I may turn comment moderation on for periods.

If you feel that someone has left a comment that is offensive and directed at you personally please email me (link on the sidebar) asking to have it removed, you will need to tell which post and the date and timestamp of the offending comment. Please do not reply to the offending comment as I will assume you continuing the dialogue as meaning that you want the comments left there.